VULPIANO RECORDS, Richey Hackett – An Introduction to Richey Hackett (VULP-0015)

VULP-0015 is a compilation of this UK-based independent artist (in every sense of the term, handling all of the songwriting, instrumentation, vocals, recording, and producing of his works), Richey Hackett, who has somehow been flying under the radar since 2007. Vulpiano Records is, proudly, releasing a compilation of the best songs from his catalog, An Introduction to Richey Hackett. The closing remark on his MySpace profile – “Pop music is dead. And I have come to revive it. Enjoy.” sums up much of his mission; the creation of catchy tunes need not leave out thoughtful lyricism, which has become increasingly abundant in his works over time. His wide array of fabulous influences have certainly lent a hand in shaping him as an artist, and I was pleased to see Elvis Costello amongst them, as that’s who I was reminded of when hearing “Sixteen” particularly, a kindred spirit in pop sensibility surely. An Introduction to… is a monument to his changes and growth over time, my favorites of the lot being “Wrath” (optimistic instrumentation blended with sentiments of distress), “Empty Out the Room” (a plodding and dark piece with some rather memorable guitar bits), and the pseudo-folksy, chugga-chugga rhythm “Coming Home”. His whole catalog is available for free on, with another album coming down the pike in summer 2010.

Download here on Internet Archive

Mirror on Mediafire

Richey Hackett: MySpace |


1. You Have, You Want, You’ll Get (Kicking & Screaming, 2008)
2. I Found My Little Habit (…That I Shall Be Tomorrow, 2009)
3. Wrath (Looking into the Dark E.P, 2008)
4. Sixteen (…That I Shall Be Tomorrow, 2009)
5. Getting Worse (Awkwardly Mobile, 2007)
6. Think Like A Shrink (Suddenly, 2007)
7. By And By The Way (Richey Hackett, 2008)
8. No One Hears Me (Suddenly, 2007)
9. Sad (Kicking & Screaming, 2008)
10. Touch (…That I Shall Be Tomorrow, 2009)
11. Empty Out The Room (…That I Shall Be Tomorrow, 2009)
12. Morning Report (Kicking & Screaming, 2008)
13. Coming Home (Richey Hackett, 2008)
14. Last Chance At Keeping It All Together (Conversations With Myself, 2007)
15. And No Darkness In My Heart (…That I Shall Be Tomorrow, 2009)

Source: VULPIANO RECORDS, VULP-0015 is a compilation of this UK-based…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *